Marching On

Posted: April 2, 2014 in 2014
Tags: , , ,

I’ve been meaning to update this before now but I haven’t done any races in a few weeks so I’ve had no real driver. Normally if I’m not updating or not doing something it’s because I’m sticking my head in the sand and trying to avoid something, but that’s not the case this time round. March has been a really good month for me training wise, despite a case of The Black Lung in the middle of it that knocked me back for about a week.

1 race (Bohermeen half marathon)

1 PB (see above)

My longest ever training run – 21 miles

An 18, 20 and a 21 miler

253 km total in 16 sessions.

My pace (for the same amount of effort) is picking up. What was previously my ‘steady’ pace is now my ‘easy’ pace, my running economy is definitely getting better, I’ve no real niggles or aches and my body seems to be responding well to the increased mileage and consistency.

The thing I’m happiest with this month though is definitely that 21 mile long run. Going into previous marathons I had one or two 18 milers in the bank but only a 20 miler logged for two of the marathons, and each time the run had ended with me whimpering and shuffling in the dark while various bits of me creaked, croaked or churned. This time round though it was fine. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t easy. The last five miles in particular were as hard as any run I’ve done but it wasn’t a Disastero Grande like in the past. Between that and the PB in Bohermeen my confidence has really been boosted and I just want to push on now. I’m a little wary of trying to do too much over the next two weeks but as long as I don’t do anything silly in that time period, and as long as my taper isn’t like any of my previous ones (do nothing training wise for three weeks, eat loads and develop a taste for strong Latin American liquors) I should be flying come Hamburg.

Leave a Reply

