Goals! Ah! Always believe in your soul!

Posted: January 21, 2014 in 2014
Tags: , , , , ,

I was never a fan of tubby Tony and his floppy fringed chums but they did have one thing right – write down some goals. I’m sure later on in the song they went into detail about how the goals should be specific, measurable, attainable, relevant and time bound but I’d usually switched off by that stage. Long term goals are all well and good but I’m a little more short term than that. If I don’t have something coming up in the next few weeks I tend to forget all about what I’m supposed to be doing, procrastinate, panic before eventually deciding that it’s too late to do anything.

Case in point:

2012 – I entered a race every month, worked towards each of those and had a very, very productive year.

2013 – I had a couple of aims that were a little more nebulous, ended up doing the square root of feck all besides getting fat and lazy.

So, that said, here are my goals for the first three months of this year (or Q1 as we call it in bizness)

January:

Sub 80 minutes at the John Tracey 10 Mile in Dungarvan on the 26th of January.

February:

Twenty days of training in February

March:

Sub 2:30 at the Wicklow Way Trail race on the 22nd March

Oh and please, for anyone reading this, please hold me to these. Trying but failing is perfectly acceptable, but just faffing about, being a total mimsy and not trying at all is worthy of abuse. I expect a certain husky ex-colleague of mine to be particularly quick to let me know if I’m being a big lazy blouse.

 

Leave a Reply

