Run Fatboy Run

Posted: January 18, 2013 in 2013, January
Tags: , , ,

Having been told in no uncertain terms by the weighing scales that it was time to get off my arse I set off this morning to do my first run of any decent distance in 2013. A new running group has sprung up in my hometown Run Monasterevin Run, who can be found on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/runmonasterevin.run?fref=ts so Brid and I went down to meet them for their regular Sunday run. I’ve been out with the group, usually three or four strong, a couple of times before but this morning there was about ten lycra and neon clad runners all milling about at Super Valu waiting for the off.

I know New Year’s resolutions and all that must have played a part in the size of the group but a large part also has to be the burgeoning popularity of running in Ireland. When I started running first, almost two years ago now, the only other person I’d see out running regularly was Paul Molloy (the guy who started up the group). Now most evenings there’s people out running individually, in pairs, in all sorts of weather too, so it makes sense to get a group together. It’s much safer as a group on these dark, dirty evenings, it’s a great motivator to go out when you’ve already arranged to meet up and you don’t want to let anyone down, plus it’s much easier to run as a group.

The other great thing about it is the social aspect of it. I’m not from Monasterevin originally, I’m only a blow-in, despite being here over ten years now. I did know some people from the town when I moved here, due to my brother and I doing a little carousing over in this direction in our younger years, and most of the other people I know is through coaching my son’s soccer and gaelic football teams for years. That and the fact that Brid’s an incredibly social, community minded person and is on every team and committee going, and therefore I meet people by proxy. If like a lot of people however, you’re not from the area at all and moved here during the housing boom, commute to a job miles away, and have no kids, it can be a bit tricky to meet people so a group like this serves a great social purpose.

So you can meet new people, it’ll help you get fit and healthy, and on top of all that, it’s free. What more could you want?

Anyway, we did 7km as a larger group at a nice, relaxed pace before people began to splinter off, having done enough for them. The smaller group that was left kept going, picking up the pace to about 5:30 mins/km initially, then for the last couple of kilometres kept gradually increasing it to about 4:45mins/km at the end. It felt fanbloodytastic to get out and blow the cobwebs off and get the legs actually working again.

13.77km in 1:21:32

 

Leave a Reply

