Dublin City Marathon – Preparation (In a Way)

Posted: October 30, 2012 in October
Tags: , , , ,

In the weeks since London to Brighton I’ve only managed a handful of easy 5km runs and one 12km run. In fact I’ve drank more bottles of tequila than I’ve run long runs and I’ve eaten more pizzas than I’ve done any sort of run. That means in the last seven weeks the only real run of note I’ve done is London to Brighton. And Dublin Marathon is tomorrow.

Last weekend was a prime example of my appalling preparation for Dublin. We had some friends over on Friday night, I was making dinner and we were to watch a film, with the dinner and the film to be from the same country. My first mistake was probably choosing Mexico as the country for our themed night. I’d never drank tequila before but decided that now would be a good time to start. With shots before dinner. We were then joined by other friends just after dinner, with more booze, and the night ended many, many hours later with many, many empty bottles. A similar situation arose this Friday night  which meant that the few days before Dublin Marathon, when I should have been preparing my body for the rigours of running 26.2 miles, were spent sitting on my hole, on the couch, stuffing my face with hangover comfort food.

Friday was the first day actually that I’d felt like my old self (not my old old self, which would be bad, but my new old self, which was good). For weeks now, since London to Brighton, I’ve felt sluggish and tired, I’ve struggled to get up in the morning and I’ve had absolutely no desire to get out and train. On Friday however I woke up early, despite having a relatively late night, and all day in work I was full of beans, just feeling brimful of energy and enthusiasm for the first time in weeks. I think I may have been feeling a little too enthusiastic however and channelled all that energy in an entirely inappropriate manner. At least my pre-marathon meal was just what the doctor/nutritionist/experienced marathon runner ordered – bucket after bucket of fried chicken. Anyway, there’s very little I can do about it at this stage now other than just get out there and run tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

