Post Post London to Brighton

Posted: October 22, 2012 in September
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve started back training again this week after a complete break last week, just a couple of easy 5k’s to start with, then an interval session (5 x 1km @ 5k pace), with the intention of doing a longish tempo run on Friday and then a long, slow run on Sunday. However, I’ve found myself to be a little sore and stiff, even after the short runs and ended up skipping the longer ones altogether. I never usually get that sore or stiff after a run, not unless I’ve done 20km+ anyway, so this is a bit unusual. I’ve had aches in my left hip and thigh, stiffness in both calves, even a sore foot, and all off piddling mileage and pace.

Presumably this is the after effects of my first ultra, and despite feeling like I could go running a day or two later my body is saying to me “relax, take it slow, I’ll let you know when I’m ready to get back into it”. When I was looking up a short, inverse taper, post ultra training plan a lot of the articles and sites did say that it takes 2 – 4 weeks to recover fully from a marathon, anything longer than that obviously takes proportionally longer again. That’s all fine and dandy, or would be at least if I didn’t have Dublin Marathon to do in a couple of weeks.

Comments
  1. bgddyjim says:

    I LOVE THAT SONG!!! Must. Go. To. iTunes!!! Thanks man! Faith No More was one of my favorites as a kid.

  2. bgddyjim says:

    Three albums later… LOL

  3. […] read a post on a blog last night that had the video for Faith No More’s Falling To Pieces video embedded in […]

Leave a Reply

