London to Brighton – Recovery

Posted: October 13, 2012 in October
Tags: , , , ,

I was really surprised by how good I felt in the aftermath of London to Brighton. That evening, and the following morning, I was pretty stiff and shuffling around like an early Romero zombie, but by the time I got home on Monday night I was feeling fine. Even with the contortion required to squeeze into a Ryanair seat. I generally recover quite quickly from these things, which I attribute, in part at least, to getting into full compression gear as soon as I can post-race. The couple of hours shuffling round Brighton definitely helped to get the legs moving again, plus it was great just to get to see Brighton again for the first time in fifteen years.

Having done some research on post ultra (or marathon) recovery, and in light of Dublin City Marathon being only four weeks away, I decided to take a bit of a break this week. I would have probably gone out for a spin or two on my bike but I actually sold both my bikes last weekend and now find myself (almost) bikeless. As it was I don’t think I did anything that even vaguely resembled exercise for the week, and instead just worked on my winter insulation. I know I’m probably going to curse myself when I’m hauling these extra pounds round the streets of Dublin on the 29th but as of now I was just enjoying being a lazy git again.

Temporarily.

Leave a Reply

