London to Brighton – Pre-Race

Posted: October 10, 2012 in September
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m never usually at all nervous before any races but I have to admit I was heading into London to Brighton with a small amount of trepidation. My training had been going reasonably well, right up to the point where I started my three week taper period. Instead of doing the traditional taper I just stopped dead in my tracks, and aside from a 10k race in Portarlington I only went running one other time in the entire three weeks. On top of that was the fact that my peak week of training only saw me doing about 100km, and the longest run in that 33.5km. That should have been a regular week and my longest run should have been closer to 30 miles than 30km, but there’s nothing that could be done about it at this point.

It wasn’t the lack of consistent training that worried me really though, or even the lack of really long runs logged. No, what had me worried was the navigation aspect of the race, which I’d chosen to address by just sticking my head in the sand and ignoring completely. In place of any sort of navigational skills I had chosen to go with a far more cunning plan – run with people who know where they’re going. Naturally this meant that I was then obligated to stay with people who knew where they were going and run at their pace, but that was a risk I was willing (and had no choice but) to take.

Comments
  1. try366 says:

    Compass training is for looser – you just need to look at a you-tube video

Leave a Reply

