Day 91 – The Honeymoon Is Over

Posted: April 21, 2012 in April
Tags: , , , ,

Relatively speaking I was pretty sensible last night. After just a single drink in the resident’s bar of the hotel the wedding was being held in I hit the hay. Admittedly that single drink followed quite a few others over the preceding twelve hours or so, but compared to some at least I felt pretty fresh this morning when I got up. I’m incredibly lucky, booze-wise, in that I rarely drink but can occasionally go out, drink quite silly amounts of whiskey, and not feel like a badger that’s been run over by a tractor the next day. That being said I can’t stomach more than a couple of pints of any sort of beer, and if I have even a sniff of vodka I spend the next twenty four hours violently vomiting so it’s swings and roundabouts really.

Since I was feeling (relatively) fresh I decided to head out for a run this evening. I really should have been doing about twenty kilometres if I was to be keeping to any sort of marathon training plan but there’s no way I’d manage that. After a kilometre or so of running I knew I wasn’t even going to get anyway close to half that. I wasn’t so concerned with my fuzzy head and blurry vision, or even my slightly wobbly legs (I just kept on telling myself it was good training for running when I’m really fatigued or slightly delirious during London – Brighton) but the noises and uncontrolled/uncontrollable motions emanating from my gastro-intestinal region were starting to worry. If it was just cramps I wouldn’t have been so worried, as that generally means things are tightening up. This felt far more like things were loosening up, and looking like getting a whole lot looser.

A couple of kilometres in there was some violent goings on in my gut, and it didn’t feel like it was going to pass any time soon. I abandoned any idea of doing anything but heading for home and started to get a bit of a move on, which turned out to be a really bad idea. The increase in pace was met with an exponential increase in stomach related churning, and it seemed to be spreading. I instantly slowed down again which brought some respite, but I knew it was only temporary. I found myself playing a risky game then, akin to when you have a sick or ailing car that you’re trying to get home. You’re trying to go slow enough that the car won’t blow up on you, but quick enough that you get home and don’t find yourself stranded in the middle of nowhere.

I just about managed to make it home without having to enlist the use of some emergency, very organic toilet roll and, well, that’s probably enough information so I think I might just finish this post here.

Leave a Reply

