Day 61 – Marching On

Posted: March 12, 2012 in March
Tags: , , , , ,

So it’s the 1st of March here (in the past), two months in the bag and it’s probably about time to have a little review. Especially as training wise tonight I just did a heart rate based pyramid session and I don’t have a huge amount to say about it.

Unfortunately a progress report is hard to produce when you don’t have a baseline measurement to compare current results to so:

Lessons Learned 1: Measure what you’re doing. Early in the season do a time trial in each discipline, then at regular intervals repeat the time trial, ensuring as much as possible that conditions are the same.

Lessons Learned 2: Put a plan in place (and stick to it). Although I’ve managed to train every day, due to my lack of a hard and fast plan I haven’t trained consistently. As any coach will tell you the only way to really improve is to train consistently. Am I fitter than I was at the start of the year? Yes. Am I as fit as I could be, given the amount of time I’ve put in, if my efforts had been more structured? Definitely not.

Lessons Learned 3: I love training. I would quite gladly train for four, five, six hours a day and if it wasn’t for silly work getting in the way that’s what I’d be doing. I’m occasionally annoyed with myself for not doing this earlier but maybe I wouldn’t have wanted to do it quite so much then. Anyway, it’s utterly pointless to think like that and instead I’m focussing on the fact in training years I’m actually very young and maybe, just maybe, with enough dedication I might some day start to trouble the lower reaches of age group rankings in the odd, very small race.

Caution – some naughty lyrics here.

Leave a Reply

