Day 36 – When Will I Learn?

Posted: February 14, 2012 in February
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yesterday’s day of football, rugby and UFC actually finished at eight this morning. I wasn’t drinking (still booze free since New Year’s Eve) so decided to drive home from Dublin at seven rather than getting some sleep up there and not getting home until this afternoon. Naturally on getting to bed so late I didn’t get up until this afternoon anyway so I’ve completely cocked up my day. Everything was pushed back a few hours and I was still really tired. I know no one asked me to stay up so late, quite the opposite in fact, so I should probably shut up about it but I’m not moaning, more giving out to myself for being a moron.

It ended up being eleven o’clock tonight before I got on to my turbo trainer, and when I eventually did get on I did a steady speed, big gear session – 10 minutes warm up, 15 minutes in one of the highest gears, 15 minutes in one gear higher again and then 5 minutes cool down. I may have felt like crap getting on to the bike, in fact I did feel like crap getting on to the bike, but I felt a whole lot better getting off it. I’ve had a couple of tricky days the last couple of Sundays where it’s been a bit of a struggle to get my training in, where the lazy, sneaky voice in my head has been nagging at me to give up and not bother but one of the things I want to do is learn how to ignore that voice, teach myself that the only regret I’ll have is if I don’t finish things out – whether it’s one session, one race, one challenge – whatever it is. I do however need to give myself more of a chance to give this a good shot. I definitely need to work a whole lot smarter.

 

Leave a Reply

