Day 25 – Nice and Steady

Posted: January 30, 2012 in January
Tags: , ,

I should be doing the majority of my running at ‘easy pace’, which for me is about 6:15 mins/km, but it’s actually quite hard to keep it down to that pace. The temptation is always there to push on a little bit more. Tonight I went out to do a minimum of ten kilometres and for the first kilometre or two could feel a variety of aches and pains. My left calf felt a little tight, which since I tore it last April always worries me, but slightly more worrying than that was a dull pain in my shins which I hadn’t felt before. Some runners I know really suffer with various shin ailments (hi Spunder!) and it seems to be incredibly frustrating as it’s something that can come and go without warning. Three or four kilometres in though I had warmed up sufficiently and the pain had disappeared so I just settled into a nice rhythm and began to enjoy my run.

I managed to find a route that runs from one end of town to the other and out to the services on the motorway that’s all lit up so I just kept running, still working my way through the back catalogue of Mondo Movies podcasts along the way, and as I turned round and headed back into town I had about seven kilometres done. Although I probably shouldn’t have I upped the pace then, unintentionally at first, but after working my way up a hill and back I was feeling pretty good so started going quicker and quicker. I really pushed on then and did the last three k’s at about 4 mins/km. I definitely felt it when I arrived home though as I was coughing and spluttering for a few minutes but all in all it was a really satisfying run. 14.5km in 1:20:25, a good night’s work.

 

Nirvana – Territorial Pissings

Leave a Reply

