Day 24 – Swimming (In a Way)

Posted: January 26, 2012 in January
Tags: , , ,

Back to the pool again tonight and much to my dismay it was jammed. Lots of people doing lengths in the main section, despite the two lanes reserved for such activities being almost empty.

The session followed much the same routine as before, with me alternating doing lengths using ‘my’ stroke and then spending time relaxing, getting comfortable in the water. Almost every article or piece I’ve read on swimming has stressed the importance of slowing everything down so I try to do just that, making sure to extend my arms, my legs, try to be smooth and efficient. In truth I’m probably just flailing more slowly but it does feel better and every now and again I feel like I’m making some sort of progress.

That is until I attempt to get some air, which invariably sees me ingesting water, bolting upright and splashing and spluttering like a drunken hippo. Thursday night is swimming night with the club and it can’t come soon enough.

Leave a Reply

