Books

Posted: January 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

I mentioned in an earlier post that when I start into something I usually buy a pile of books on the subject. I’ve read plenty on the subject of running but Joe Friel’s Training Bible and Phil Maffetone’s Big Book of Endurance Racing apart I’ve nothing on the subject of triathlons, or just swimming or cycling.

Has anyone any recommendations for books I could read on these?

Books on running that I’ve read and enjoyed are as follows:

Ultramarathon Man – Dean Karnazes

Born To Run – Christopher McDougall

Feet in the Clouds: A Tale of Fell-Running and Obsession – Richard Askwith

What I Talk About When I Talk About Running – Haruki Murakami

I almost forgot the book that convinced me something silly like this could be done: Who Dares, Runs – Gerry Duffy

 

Comments
  1. Umberto says:

    Did you enjoy Murakami? I found him a bit too cloying and holistic. I suspect that time has altered his stance on running, or he a massive pain in the hole.

    • try366 says:

      I’m a Murakami fan so I quite enjoyed it, but it is quite slight and more than a little self absorbed (not that he ever claimed anything to the contrary I suppose).

      Any suggestions for cycling related books? The only ones I’ve read are Rough Ride and Le Tour, both of which I really liked.

Leave a Reply

