Day 6 – Well That Was Rubbish

Posted: January 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

Before I started this endeavour I knew that progress at times was going to be not unlike the relationship between Paula Abdul and Topcat. Well today was obviously one of those “one step back” days. I set off for a run with intentions of picking out a new route around town of between four and six kilometres that I could use as laps for my running but after a kilometre or two when my legs should have been loosening up and I should have been getting quicker instead they were getting heavier and tighter. Three kilometres in and it felt like my hamstrings were about six inches shorter than they should be, which was slightly worrying as I never have problems with my hamstrings (touch wood). I stopped for a couple of minutes to stretch them but it seemed to have no effect other than to worsen my already rapidly darkening mood.

With my seemingly dead legs beneath me making progress very slow absolutely everything was pissing me off. As usual my running companions were Ken and Owen from the Off the Ball Football Show but with my mood as it was I could barely even take Ken’s, admittedly very eloquent, dissection of Andy Carroll’s miserable form and poor technique. All I could think of at this point was going home so after plodding along for a little further I admitted defeat and trudged in the door having managed a miserable 5.5km in a pathetic 30 minutes. Easily the worst run I’d done in months.

Once I’d got inside and completed a session with my Trigger Point foam roller I felt marginally better physically but if anything my mood was even worse. Why had I just given up? How hard would it have been just to walk another lap around town. I can’t remember the last time I’d given up so easily and it really pissed me off.

 

DJ Shadow – Giving Up the Ghost

Leave a Reply

